Task Forces & Committees

Pictured above are members of the Colorectal Cancer Task Force during the Cancer Coalition Fall Meeting held on September 26, 2017.

The South Dakota Cancer Coalition currently has 4 task forces working on priority areas from the 2015-2020 Cancer State Plan, along with cross cutting committees that meet the needs of the coalition as a whole. Coalition members are encouraged to join and be active in one or more of the groups.

Frequently Asked Questions about Task Forces and Cross Cutting Committees

What’s the difference between a task force and a cross cutting committee?

Task forces work to implement objectives within one particular priority area of the SD Comprehensive Cancer Control State Plan and are reassessed by the coalition annually. Cross cutting committees meet the needs of the coalition as a whole and only meet as needs arise within the task forces.

How do I decide which task force and/or committee I should participate on?

We encourage you to take a closer look at each task force and committee and find one that most interests you. You are welcome to participate on more than one task force/committee if there are several that spark your interest.

How do task forces and committees work throughout the year?

Task forces meet via conference call once a month, and once in-person at the Cancer Coalition Fall Meeting. Cross cutting committees meet via conference call on an ad hoc basis, approximately 4-6 times a year.

Is it mandatory to be on a task force or a committee?

Although we encourage all members to become involved in a task force or committee, it is not mandatory.

2017-2018 Task Forces:

Cancer Risk Factor/Prevention (Priorities 1-5) – Chaired by Sandra Melstad

Increase HPV vaccination rates (Priority 6) – Chaired by Sarah Quail

Early Detection Health Equity (Priorities 7-10) – Chaired by Stacey Burnette

Increase risk-appropriate screening for colorectal cancer (Priority 9) – Chaired by Jill Ireland

Cross Cutting Committees:

Data, Surveillance and Evaluation – Co-chaired by Ashley Miller and Kay Dosch

Policy, System and Environment Change – Chaired by Jill Ireland

Coalition Membership and Communication – Chaired by Sarah Quail